A Complete Guide to Deleting Your Facebook Account Permanently

May 4, 2017

Facebook is a great platform to stay connected to the world, friends, and family. It is also a wonderful place to remain up to date with the latest trends and news. Every good however, tags along some bad too. Not everyone likes the constant barraging of ads, news, negative posts and more.

If you think you have had enough and don’t want it any more, you can choose to take a break from Facebook. In case you don’t plan to return to Facebook ever (at least with your existing account), you may also delete your profile permanently. Thankfully, Facebook lets you choose one of the two options.

Also Read :- FaceBook Impressum – How To’s and Impressum Example

Deactivating and Deleting: Understanding the Difference

Facebook offers two ways to stay out of sight on this social media platform. One method is temporary and the other is permanent. That sums up the difference between deactivating and deleting.

When you deactivate the account, it is disabled only temporarily. While the account is deactivated, your FB friends will not be able to see you in their friends list, will have no access to your posts, and will not be able to view your timeline. You will also not appear in the search results when someone searches with your name, email address or phone number. But, some information may still remain visible. For instance, your comments on someone’s post will continue to appear. The FB messages you sent will also be visible.

Deactivated account can be reactivated anytime. All you need to do is open the FB login page and log in with your email/username/phone number and password. Facebook will also shoot an email to your registered email address stating that your account has been reactivated. Deactivation does not change anything. You get your Facebook account back the way you left it. Your posts, friend list, photos, comments, and everything else remain intact.

Deletion, however, is completely different. When you delete the account, you remove everything permanently. Once the deletion process has completed, you will not be able to regain access to your account even if you try to login with your credentials (username and password). All your posts, photos and any other info you might have will be removed forever.

Since deletion is permanent, you would like to be absolutely sure you really want to do it. What if you wanted to restore the account at some point of time? In most cases, it is best to deactivate the account instead of deleting it. However, if you have made up your mind, you can go ahead and delete the account.

In the proceeding text, we will learn how to delete Facebook as well as deactivate it.

Also Check :- 3 Ways To Set up a Tinder Profile (Without Facebook)

Deactivate Facebook Account

Deactivating Facebook is like taking a break from this social media platform. You have the opportunity to get back to it whenever you want. You can keep the account deactivated for as long as you need. At the time of deactivation, you can also choose for how long you wish to keep the account deactivated so that it is automatically reactivated after that time period.

Remember that even when the account is deactivated, you can use Messenger app to chat with your FB friends. You can disable this feature if you don’t want to receive messages.

Here are the simple steps to deactivate the account temporarily:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account on a web browser
  2. Click on the ‘triangle’ icon on the top right in the blue bar
  3. Click ‘Settings’ in the dropdown menu
  4. Select ‘General’ on the left pane
  5. Click and expand ‘Manage account’
  6. Click ‘Deactivate your account’ under ‘Deactivate your account’ section
  7. Enter your Facebook password on the next screen
  8. Choose your ‘Reason for leaving’ (some reasons will give you the option to choose the deactivation timeframe); Facebook will suggest you deactivation alternatives upon selecting certain reasons.
  9. Check ‘Email opt-out’ if you do not wish to receive emails from Facebook
  10. Check ‘Opt out of receiving messages on Messenger’ if you do not want to be visible on Messenger
  11. Click ‘Deactivate’ button
  12. Click ‘Deactivate Now’ on the confirmation pop-up

That’s it! You have deleted the account successfully. If you wish to reactivate it, simply log in again.

Also Read :- Whatsapp Video Calling APK Download For Android

Delete Facebook Account Permanently

If you have finally made up your mind, you can delete your Facebook account permanently. But, before you remove everything from Facebook it would be a good idea to download a copy of your Facebook data. You can download your personal content, photos, contact info, and a few other things. You will be able to access your information even when your account has been wiped out permanently.

You can save your photos and other details individually as well. But, it will be very long drawn and tiring. Here is how you can save your data on the hard drive:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account
  2. Click on the ‘triangle’ icon on the top blue bar (on the right)
  3. Click ‘Settings’ in the dropdown menu
  4. Select ‘General’ on the left pane
  5. Click ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data’
  6. Click ‘Start My Archive’ on the next window

Now that you have backed up the data on your computer, you can follow these steps to say the last goodbye to the current Facebook account:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account
  2. Visit the link https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
  3. Click ‘Delete my account’
  4. Enter your Facebook password on the next screen
  5. Also enter the captcha
  6. Click ‘OK’
  7. If you see a confirmation pop-up, select the appropriate option to continue with account deletion
  8. Click ‘Ok’ on the next popup

This is how you can submit the account deletion request. Your account will be deleted after 14 days.

Can I recover my account after submitting the deletion request?

Even after having made up their mind, many people regret their decision of deleting the Facebook account permanently. Once the account has been deleted, it cannot be recovered. However, thankfully, Facebook doesn’t delete the account until after 14 days from the date of request.

This simply means that you can restore your account within 14 days. All you need to do is log in normally with your username and password.

Remember, if you log in within 14 days, the deletion request will get cancelled. If you still need to delete the account, you will need to follow the entire process all over.

Conclusion

If you think you had enough of Facebook, you may want to stay away from it. While some people choose to take a short break from this social portal, others do not plan to come back at all. You can either deactivate the account temporarily or delete it permanently. Once you have deleted the account, you will not be able to recover it.  

Leave a comment: